Skip to content ↓

College Park Infants School is a Kings Group Academy and, as a part of a Multi-Academy Trust, the Governors of the school are delegated powers by the Trust Board to oversee governance at a local level, on behalf of the main Trust Board. The Local Governing Body also exercises the same responsibility for Lyndhurst Junior School, which is also a member of the Kings Group Academies.

The Chair of Governors is Hugh Whitaker who is contactable via the school office.

As Governors, we aim to work in conjunction with parents, staff and other stakeholders of both schools to exercise a local form of governance that is responsive and reflects the voice of the community we serve.

The Local Governing Body is a team of people who work closely with the Executive Headteacher and Head of School to make key decisions to enable the successful running of the school and ensure that it delivers high quality education.

Governors have a number of roles.  The three main ones are:

  • to provide strategic direction to the school.
  • to ensure accountability and in particular the safety of children & staff at the school.
  • to act as a critical friend to the Executive Headteacher and Head of School.

Other roles cover: monitoring how the school budget is spent; forming policy on the school’s curriculum and collective worship; setting and monitoring standards for pupils; setting the policy for admissions to the school; appointing staff and hearing appeals.

Governors come from all sections of the community, parents, business management and a host of other skills.  All can offer extremely helpful expertise to the school, work as part of a team and give commitment to the school. Although the role can be very demanding it is very rewarding and is a good way to give back to your community.

Hugh Whitaker
Chair of Governors


Additional information linked to KGA Governance, including Board Minutes and Register of Interests can be found by clicking here.

Additional Statutory Information


The Governing Body have given limited voting rights to Associate members.



  • Mrs Andrews (February 2020)
  • Mrs Anderson (July 2020)
  • Mrs Ford (July 2020)